More homemade stuff.

I got a burst of creative energy the other day and tried some more recipes.  I have been searching for mouse repellants.  Most are stinky garlic and Tobasco mixtures that you would spray outdoors at possible entry points.  I was looking for something nicer to put in cabinets.  I found a recipe on DiscountQueens.com that looked easy and inexpensive using baking soda and peppermint essential oil.  The recipe did not include and amounts for the ingredients, so I just experimented.  Here’s what I came up with:

1/3 cup water

3/4 cup baking soda

20 drops peppermint essential oil

100_0001First mix the baking soda and water.  The consistency should be fairly soft.

101_1804Then pour into a silicon mold.  I had a few to choose from and Mr. Bebe was there to supervise.

101_1805I went with the hearts and this recipe made just enough to fill all the molds.

101_1807After 24 hours I took them out of the molds.  Be careful, they are kind of brittle.  The peppermint scent is strong, but pleasant.  I don’t know if these will keep mice out of the cabinets, but they certainly smell better than mouse pee!

Evicting the mice from the cabinets has been quite a chore.  I’ve been gradually transferring all edible things into plastic containers to cut off the food supply.  We’ve also realized we can no longer keep our trash bag under the sink.  It is just too big a mouse magnet.  I’ll be searching amazon for a compact trash can to keep under our little table or somewhere.  I trapped 3 mice in the space under our stove amongst the duct work.  This was in the live catch trap and I let them go outdoors.  I hope they don’t just run back as fast as their tiny legs will carry them.  While cleaning the accumulation of plastic bags and such from the undersink area, I found an ingenious mouse nest.  I had left a stainless steel vacuum bottle with the lid off in there.  Some little mouse had it stuffed full of comfy looking shredded paper.  When I dropped the bottle on the ground outside, the startled mouse took off like a shot!  That’s one way to get them out.  My husband also found one perusing our trash bag and just through that whole bunch out the door.  So that’s 5 out in the last few days.  Now I’m stowing the peppermint hearts here and there.  We’ll just have to see what happens.

About Caryl

I began exploring buddhism in the mid-90's. I first learned about Venerable Thubten Chodron when I was invited by a friend to go to a public talk she did at the University of Texas at Austin around 1996 or so. I recently started formal study with the SAFE course online. I am delighted to have this opportunity to offer service on the TC.org migration team.
This entry was posted in Animals, maintenance, RV's and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

